Reviews

Please read some of the reviews of our hotel...

No results found

Just wanted to thank you Nicole and Kayleigh for a really wonderful night. You were both SO helpful and you made it run so smoothly.

Mum was SO surprised and said apart from the obvious (having babies and getting married) it was the most wonderful evening of her life!

Helen Ewer, December 2016 Category: event

Brilliant location, excellent staff and lovely food. Also very convenient and easy for disabled guests.

Maureen, November 2016 Category: stay

We have dined The Sands on a number of occasions and it NEVER disappoints! Keep in mind that Breakfast is also particularly good and therefore worth staying over.

David, November 2016 Category: restaurant

Perfect date night - We stayed the night and had dinner in the restaurant, the food was amazing, service was spot on and we can't wait to go back!

Rebecca, January 2017 Category: restaurant

Wonderful accommodation with fantastic bathroom Huge bed all luxury comforts Cookies in a jar with filter coffee!! Food in restaurant excellent and wonderful staff

Julian, December 2016 Category: stay

Pleasant "boutique" hotel, kitted out well with quality fixtures and fittings. Staff friendly and helpful and a great view of Margate beach from the restaurant. We had a town view room, not the biggest but comfortable with nice bathroom.

Robin, January 2017 Category: stay

Excellent service from arrival to departure, lots of happy polite staff...super helpful.

Clare, January 2017 Category: stay

A luxury modern hotel, right next to the beach. We booked it online after looking for a nice hotel for a weekend away with our friends. Untill you see your choice you can only hope it meets your expectations, the Sands far excelled in this department. The moment we walked in the door, we felt welcome and were going to enjoy our stay. We had booked two sea-view rooms with a balcony. The furnishings and decor were clean and modern and everything you needed including soft bathrobes All the staff were great, just couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was enjoyable. The restaurant is open plan with the lounge and bar which gave it a great atmosphere, allowing the singer entertainer, to be shared by all. There was a wide choice of well presented and very tasty dishes on the menu and we can not wait to return. BRILLIANT.

Steve, November 2016 Category: stay

Food had a fantastic take each dish the flavours were amazing our waiter Tom was attentive, full of great advice and gave a fantastic wine pairing. If you've been before you need to revisit as it is now a whole new level!!

Steve Groom, November 2016 Category: restaurant

We were a bit dubious about our booking as it was a festive menu with Christmas crooner. However, turned out great. The service was impeccable, the food delicious and the singing delightful. We would definitely return.

G Wheeldon, December 2016 Category: restaurant

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for unfortunately only 1 night, it's such a beautiful hotel I wish we stayed for longer! The room we stayed in was really lovely and clean, the shower and bath tub was lovely. Beautiful room and hotel. Definitely will be returning!

Laura, December 2016 Category: stay

We booked a couple of hours before arrival - spur of the moment night away! We had a problem finding the hotel and honed for directions and when we did arrive, Matthew was waiting outside for us - very nice touch, he even went with my partner to park the car as, it was a foggy night.

Complimentary drinks on arrival, bags taken to our room while we relaxed in a beautiful bar. The staff were exemplary and it would be impossible to find a fault with our overnight stay. The room was town facing - good size and really well appointed. Lovely bathroom - large walk in shower and large bath.

Complimentary newspapers delivered to our room in the morning. Then down to breakfast and sat on a table by the terrace with views of the sands and the sea. Totally perfect. Excellent breakfast with a great choice of dishes.

This was a last minute get away and, it was a fantastic experience. I reckon that we will be doing more last minute escapes to The Sands Hotel - particularly as it is less than an hour away from our house, but on arrival and such a great welcome, it felt like we had been transported many, many miles away! Feeling very spoilt!

Gill, December 2016 Category: stay

Outstanding in every way. One of the best hotels of its type that I have stayed in anywhere in the world. The staff are charming and efficient and the rooms and restaurant are comfortable and beautifully decorated. A haven of peace, style and tranquility. Our evening meal and breakfast were delicious and beautifully cooked. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Darius, December 2016 Category: stay

We came here on the 9/12/16..for a festive evening with the Christmas menu and it was beautifully cooked ... It was a lovely , relaxing evening with excellent entertainment provided by Miss Hollie Harris .. The staff were attentive and were not put out when we asked for desserts to be delayed so we stay longer ... Well done to...

Mrs P, December 2016 Category: restaurant

This hotel had everything. Massive bath, great big comfy bed, as well as some nice little touches, robes, chocolates,cookies etc. Good value for money, friendly staff and great food. Also the view from the restaurant is spectacular!

Nick, January 2017 Category: stay

Checked in yesterday for my husbands birthday. The receptionist on arrival was very friendly we were given a sea view room. The room Beautifully furnished overlooking the sands. We were booked for a 7 o'clock meal, we had cocktail two for one before 7pm. The meal was superb I had turbot to start and steak for main, beautifully presented and tasted good too. I could hear the couple next to us also happy with their meals. We had the piano playing it was very relaxing. They brought over a dessert with candle for my husband. The staff were very attentive and friendly. Loved everything.

Maxina, January 2017 Category: stay

Stayed here again last night, my wife and I were really spoilt. We like to thank Matt and the manager for really looking after us. The food and service as usual were top notch. Can't wait to stay again. Thanks.

Len, January 2017 Category: stay

Dear Cherry,
Just wanted to thank you so much for what turned out to be a fantastic birthday weekend. All the organisation on your part was just perfect and we were made to feel so welcome. I must commend all the staff. They were so attentive, polite and fully accommodating. They couldn't do enough for us. The food was outstanding !!! and served with such efficiency !!! We will definitely return to the Sands at another time. Thank you once again. It couldn't have been better.

Mr and Mrs Wilson, January 2017 Category: stay

We spent a night here, including eating in the restaurant, on a cold mid-winter January night. The hotel has been excellently modernised, and the room was very comfortable. The bed was large, and the sofa was nice for a warming cup of tea. The room and bathroom were very clean, and the sea view in the morning was excellent. The restaurant was very good, with food in good portions that were not too large, and with a well-chosen wine list that was not too expensive. The breakfast was also very good, with the restaurant having the same sea view. All the staff were very professional, friendly and efficient. We were able to park on one of the reserved bays right outside the hotel. WE were visiting the Turner Contemporary Gallery, and will certainly return in warmer weather to this hotel to see the other attractions in the area.

Reading Tourist, January 2017 Category: stay

I booked this hotel for a couple of nights as a present for my husband's parents one weekend. We came to visit them and all had a lovely lunch together.

The dining room is magnificent. Truly the most stunning restaurant I have ever dined in. The view is amazing.

We had a little tour of the hotel and were shown a few different hotel room types.
All the rooms are lovely. The beds are not very large - but I have been told they are comfy, obviously the sea view rooms are the nicest.

In summer there is a lovely ice cream parlour that is open on the ground floor - and if you bring kids along then as part of their kid menu one of the waitresses will take the kids downstairs where they can choose their own ice-cream concoction. Our kids loved it.

If you are visiting Margate and can afford it - stay here! If not just come for a meal, coffee or afternoon tea. You won't regret it.

Tara, January 2017 Category: stay

We found an offer where if you booked the restaurant for an evening meal you could stay in the hotel for the cost of a taxi home. We booked into this hotel on this deal for our wedding anniversary day. On arrival and going to our room which faced the sea we were amazed at the quality of the work done to bring this former hotel back once again into use as a hotel. The meal in the restaurant continued to make us even more pleased to spend this special day in the Sands Hotel. The staff were on hand and very helpful and warming making us enjoy this experience and the quality of the food in the restaurant was fantastic . A must for any one staying in Margate visit the hotel stay in the rooms and book a meal.

Peter, January 2017 Category: stay

My daughter and I have just dined at this wonderful restaurant. The food, surroundings and service were simply outstanding... the restaurant overlooks Margate beach, and even on a bleak winter's day it provides a dramatic vista. I had the scallops to start, which were cooked to perfection, sweet, soft and scrumptious. My daughter had the ham hock terrine, which she loved. We both ordered a roast beef main, and I'm a bit of a heathen in that I prefer my beef well done, so when the waitress asked how we would like it cooked, I was delighted and hopeful that it wouldn't be shoe-leather-like; another huge brownie point (no pun intended) it was tender and so, so tasty, the vegetables were perfect and the gravy... just how it should be. The picture is of my daughter's medium rare beef, I forgot to take a picture before I started eating! The desserts were like an out of body experience, simply sublime. In conclusion, we will definitely be coming back, and back, and back again!

Lorraine, January 2017 Category: restaurant

We required a venue that we could mix work and pleasure and the Sands Hotel gave us the perfect environment to do just that. The staff were particularly helpful and everything was organised to perfection.

Conscience Creative, January 2017 Category: business

Scott and I would like to thank you all at the sands for the wedding last Saturday we both had a wonderful day.

Mr and Mrs Miller, September 2016 Category: wedding

We really enjoyed our wedding reception and would like to thank you and your staff for making the event go so smoothly.

Rachel Hills, October 2016 Category: wedding







Explore

Margate is bursting with cultural renaissance in the pretty Old Town with galleries, quirky shops, new café culture and of course cutting edge art. The artist JMW Turner loved the town's...Read More

Careers

We are looking for new members to join our ever growing team here at Sands Hotel Margate. Situated on the busy seafront we are open seven days a week and require suitable candidates to work in...Read More

Contact

By Road Margate has excellent road links from London via the M2 motorway. Read More

Reviews

We are proud of the reviews we get and are touched guests are happy to take the time to pay us a compliment or two. Please read some of the reviews of our hotel...Read More

Access

Our statement does not contain personal opinions as to our suitability for those with access needs, but aims to accurately describe the facilities and services that we offer all our...Read More

Subscribe

Subscribe to stay up-to-date with out latest offers and events...Read More